top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Communicator

Every step I took led me to a new place



My closet…

Our garage at dawn…

The train station…

A busy Pureza street…

School…


Every step I took led me to a new place.

Many places, my younger self wavered over, but incessantly walked towards.

Each scene I ventured to move my feet at a different pace.

A lot of times, they were strange and so unknown, but ever forward.


Oh, who was I but a drooling kid running on cups of curiosity,

Who would grow to believe that cups of coffee between stacks of activities mean I am saved?

Periods when it all suddenly felt routinary frustrated but did not faze me

Because I trust that a foot forward is tomorrow reshaped.


Every step I took, I was elsewhere.

And today, as I ready myself for another big leap, the light where I am to go seems brighter.

I do not exactly know where, but who cares?

As unsure as I did a thousand times before, I await for a new place where I can set foot—maybe this time, climb a ladder.


My closet…

Our garage at home…

The train station…

Graduation…

Door to my first job…


It’s led me here, after many years.



Article: Marian Luisa Palo

Illustration: Jeohan Samuel Aquino

Comments


bottom of page